One of the annoying problems with Gmail is that even after you delete an email address, it still appears as drop-down suggestions, when you start typing name in “To” box.
This problem is not as simple as it looks. Even hitting the delete key after highlighting the suggestion will not work. And most of the times, when you delete the email address from “My Contacts” list, then too the name or email address pops-up as soon as you start writing/typing in “To” field for sending messages. This problem can be easily solved by following method:
Step 1: Click on “Contacts” on the left sidebar of Gmail. Now select the option “All Contacts”. Gmail has two depositories for email addresses. One is “My Contacts” which you have imported or have saved previously. The other is “All contacts”, where ALL contacts are automatically saved if you have send them a mail previously, though you haven’t added them in your contact list.
Now, from “All Contacts” find the name/email address of the person and manually delete it.
Step 2: Log out of your Gmail account and clear the browser cache.
Now, the deleted email address won’t appear in Gmail address suggestions and will protect you from sending a mail accidently.